Posted in Expression

Hijab for a Day

Evelyn Ambriz said, “I never thought that I would wear the hijab but I’m so glad I did.”
Do you wanna know about her story, please read it! 😊

islamwich

If you haven’t heard of this international collaboration of women, let me introduce you. It is called World Hijab Day. Since 2013, women from all races, countries, and faiths have shown their support for Muslim women who choose to wear hijab by donning their own scarves. As the slogan states: Before you Judge, Cover Up for a Day.

The initiative was the brain child of Nazma Khan who, after emigrating from Bangladesh to the U.S., suffered isolation, discrimination, and harassment because she wore hijab. Her story here:

As a non-Muslim in 1999, I myself wore hijab for a weekend to an ISNA convention. I was learning about Islam at the time, and what I found was that there was nothing oppressive about the scarf covering my hair or the loose clothes on my body.

I was surprised that I felt less self-conscious about my appearance and more self-possessed in…

View original post 1,004 more words

Author:

I'm a teacher in Islamic Elementary School. Hand lettering is my new hobby, but I like it so much. Here, I wanna master it n all the genre of my writing.

Please share your minds with me! Thank you!

